Green School Information

Working Together For a Sustainable Future.

What is ‘The Green Schools’?

Green-Schools is Ireland’s leading environmental management and education programme for schools.

The Green-Schools is a student-led programme within a school with involvement from the wider community.

The programme is operated and co-ordinated by the Environmental Education Unit of An Taisce (FEE member for Ireland) and is delivered in our school with the co-operation of Tipperary County Council and Partnerships.

Every theme in the ‘Green Schools’ programme is approached and developed over 1-2 years within the school. Themes are linked to many subject areas of the school curriculum.

 What are The Green Schools themes?

The themes are divided into the following:

  1. Litter and Waste
  2. Water
  3. Energy
  4. Travel
  5. Bio-Diversity
  6. Global Citizenship

 What are the steps to being awarded a Green Schools Flag?

The 6 steps are:

  1. Forming a Committee of Students.
  2. An Environmental Review within the school.
  3. Devise an Action Plan to further develop awareness of this theme.
  4. Follow the Action Plan, community based.
  5. Monitoring Progress within the community.
  6. Evaluating all information.

 Green Schools Flag

We are currently in our second year of working towards our first Green School Flag on the theme of ‘Litter and Waste’, (2019-2021).

Our committee was set up in October 2019 and they will complete their duties when the Green Flag is achieved. A new committee will then be set up for the next theme. We meet on a regular basis to discuss and implement our ideas to reduce litter and waste in our school.

Our committee is looking forward to the year ahead to keep our school an environmentally friendly green school.

Pupil Committee Members:

Dawn Cuddihy – Ms. Martin                                                            Jack Cavanagh – Ms. C. O’Brien

Damien Mulhall – Mr. Browne                                                          Jack Stokes – Ms. Cullinane

Kelan Hyland – Mr Anderson                                                            Rhys Minchin – Ms. Barrett

Brendan McAndrew – Ms. O’Doherty                                               Johnathan Sweeney – Ms. O’Doherty

Paddy Delaney – Mr. Ryan                                                                Cian Cooney – Ms. Skehan

Patrice Duffy – Mr. Doran                                                                  Cormac Kennedy – Mr. O’Heney

Brandon O’Donnell – Ms. Roche                                                       Peter Hislop – Ms. O’Dwyer

Rimma O’Meara – Ms. O’Dwyer

Staff Committee Members:

Ms. Cummins, Mr. Browne, Ms. Hickey, Mr. O’Heney, I. Lonergan, Caretaker Eddie, Mr. Ryan.

 Our Green School’s Code

The Green Code competition was held in January 2020. The entries were to a very high standard showing creativity and meaning. The committee had a hard job to choose the winner. After a lot of deliberation the winner was chosen.

Thank you to Ms. O’Dwyer’s class who created our new 2019/2020 Green School Code.

Work as a team to keep Scoil Chormaic clean!